top of page

How to Make a Pine Cone Bird Feeder

One thing I loved as a child was watching the birds from my kitchen window. We had a few bird feeders when I was a kid but we loved to make our own from pine cones and peanut butter. It was super easy and so fun! Today I thought I would share with you all how to make your own pine cone bird feeders at home.

What you will need is:

-one pine cone

-peanut butter

-bird seed

-a string of twine, fishing line, or yarn

-scissors

-a butter knife

-a paper plate

I started by tying my twine around the top of the pine cone and then tying it again to create a loop for it to hang from.

I then coated the pine cone in peanut butter using the butter knife. Be sure to spread it evenly and do not push down too hard or you might break the pine cone. I found it was easiest to hold the pine cone between my thumb and middle finger or forefinger. It helped avoid sticking my finger in the peanut butter and poking myself on the pine cone's sharp edges.

Next, I rolled the pine cone in the bird seed, creating an even coating. I also sprinkled on any seed where rolling couldn't reach like at the top or in the crevices.

It should look something like the picture below. Your's may vary depending on the size of the pine cone and the type of bird seed you used.

Now hang your creation in a tree or on a hook for the birds to find. It might take a little time for the birds to locate the feeder but once they do, they will eat it right up. Do not be surprised if any squirrels come and munch on your feeder too (they love peanut butter and bird seed just as much).

If you make these feeders regularly, the birds will be sure to visit you often to get a yummy meal.


~Abigail C.

8 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page