top of page

How To Make Homemade Seed Bombs

Last Spring I came across these seed bombs at a local shop in Monroe.  I purchased a few for gifts and thought to myself these look pretty easy to make.

I came across the instructions a few weeks ago and decided to try them out. 

First I assembled the supplies needed. Luckily I had them on hand already. 


    Colored tissue paper

     Flower seed packets (wildflowers,     

     hummingbird mix, etc)

     Water

     A mixing bowl

I chose the pink and purple tissue paper and the hummingbird wildflower blend seeds. 

I began by tearing the tissue paper into small pieces approximately 1”x1”.  After the first seed bomb I did use a bit larger pieces of tissue paper. 

After I placed them in the bowl, I used my fingers to sprinkle a small amount of water to dampen the tissue paper. Then I smooshed the paper in the water in the bottom of the bowl. 

f you get your mixture too wet you can add more pieces of tissues paper. If the paper is too dry you can sprinkle more water into bowl. 


Then I put about 1 to 1/2 teaspoon of flower seeds on top of the paper. 

I pulled the tissue paper up around the seeds making into a ball. Then I rolled the ball in my hands squeezing out any excess water. 

Once I had a nice ball shape, I took a larger piece of tissue paper and dampened it. I wrapped the paper around the ball to give it a nice smooth finish. 

Next put the seed bombs on a plate to dry. This can take up to 24 hours to dry out. 

When you are ready to use them, simply bury them in potting soil, water and grow!! I planted mine in a pot on my deck. I can’t wait to see the grow!

~Pam

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page