top of page

The Walnut Grove Library's Young Poets Contest Winners 2022



April was National Poetry Month and the library hosted it's second annual Young Poets Contest for kids grades 2nd-12th. We had many amazing entries and we want to thank each and every one of you who submitted a poem. We have divided the entries into three groups by grade: elementary school, middle school, and high school. In each group we have a first place poet and a runner-up. For grades 2nd-5th, first place goes to Paisley Rutledge for her poem "Raining Storm" and runner-up goes to Wesley DeJong for his poem "Gold." For grades 6th-8th, first place goes to Evangeline DeJong for her poem "The Sea and Me" and runner-up goes to Joy Brock for her poem "Who You Are." For grades 9th-12th, first place goes to Benjamin Brock for his poem "Focus on Gladness Not Sadness" and runner-up goes to Grace Brock for her poem "Kindness is the Answer."


Without further ado, here are the poems of our three winners and three runner-ups.


Raining Storm

By Paisley Rutledge

2nd Grade

1st Place


I am here forever more,

but I am here in the raining storm.

I am lifted like a cloud,

then I drop down to the ground.


Thunder-boom, lightning-flash.

I am like rain in a dash.

Like thunder and lightning,

I am fighting for me and you

and you and me.


Gold

By Wesley DeJong

5th Grade

Runner-up


Sound like a bell,

Cold and clear.

Feels like a waterfall,

Cascading through your hands.

Tastes like a piece of toast,

Freshly buttered.


Now my poem is through,

So I'd like to see what you can do.


The Sea and Me

By Evangeline DeJong

7th Grade

1st Place


Growing trees, singing birds

Lots, and lots, and lots of words.

Sheep peacefully grazing in their herds.

As I watch the sea,

I write my poetry,

Oblivious to the other scenery.

For it is only the sea and me.


Who You Are

By Joy Brock

6th Grade

Runner-up


In the nightfall in the daybreak,

In the summer time when you know that your heart quakes,

Breathe, just breathe, who you are is fine with me.

Breathe, at ease, when the storm is upon the eaves,

Just breathe, hold close, and be yourself.

When you call me, I will answer.

What you tell me, I will do.

So say, just say, who you are no delays.




Focus on Gladness Not Sadness

Benjamin Brock

9th Grade

1st Place


Do you have enemies?

Don't focus on their hatred.

Instead, do you have friends?

Focus on their love.

Do you have tough times?

Don't ponder why.

Instead, do you have blessings?

Look at the gifts or the encouragements.

Do you have pain and sadness?

Don't linger in the dark.

Instead, do you have moments of laughter and joy?

Think about joyful and glad times.

So the next time that life is unfair,

Don't linger on the sad times.

Instead, be glad to have moments of joy.

Focus on gladness not sadness.


Kindness is the Answer

By Grace Brock

10th Grade

Runner-up


Kindness is when you show that you love,

When you give someone a second chance;

You give them a hug or shake their hand,

And tell them it will be alright in the end.


Kindness is when you help someone up,

You show them you care when they are overwhelmed;

you help them trudge through the path of life,

you show them someone cares when it seems like no one does.



Thank you again to all those who submitted poems. We loved them all so much and could have given everyone first place. We have a display in the foyer of the library with all the first place and runner-up poems in the glass case so stop by to take a look. To our winners and runner-ups, please be sure to visit the library to receive your prizes.


~Abigail C.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page